# DATEV CHALLENGE ROTH 2016 – 7TH OVERALL RANKING // Photo Credits: Marcel Hilger

 

Professional Triathlete

Fabian Rahn.

Fabian Rahn is a big hope in the german triathlon scene. He finished his first triathlon in 2009 – the short distance race in Kraichgau. Since then this sport has been fascinating him and  he has been focusing on short and middle distance races. Rahn successfully switched to the prestigious long distance on 17th July 2016 at DATEV Challenge Roth. With an overall time of 08:20:11 hours and the fourth fastest marathon time of 02:47:56 hours he right away made his way to the world class of triathlon. At the same time he is pursuing his 5 years masterplan #Agenda2020 – the ambitious goal to finish on the podium at Ironman Hawai'i.  ___

 

 

 

 

Born
Birthplace
Residence
Height
Weight
Body Fat
Pulse
15.01.1986
Remchingen
Cologne
177 cm
63 kg
5 %
34/190

 

 

 

 

 

 

# DATEV CHALLENGE ROTH 2016 – 7TH OVERALL RANKING // Photo Credits: Marcel Hilger

 

Triathlon.

I have been fascinated by the three endurance sports swimming, cycling and running since I was a child. During my time as a soccer player (1995-2001: Striker and regular player in the regional selection my father, who is a very good marathon runner, used to take me with him to his running training and in my free time I did a lot of cycling. When I started cycling as a professional sport in 2001 the area where I grew up was totally infected with triathlon enthusiasm because of the first german victory at the legendary Ironman Hawaii by Thomas Hellriegel. And by the time Norman Stadler was the second German winning Hawaii in 2004 I was addicted to this sport, not missing any coverage. Just the swimming part stopped me from trying it by myself. I’ve been dreaming of triathlon for more than 10 years, especially of the Ironman Hawai’i and winning this race. And I am ready to take this long, bumpy and sometimes painful road to Big Islang Hawai’i to cross the finish line as the winner!

Carreer Performance 1995 - 2009

Based on his previous athletic career Fabian Rahn has excellent conditions for cycling and running to make the final leap into the internal top triathlete scene. Between 2002 and 2008 Rahn was competing in national and international cycling races, in 2002 he won the regional championship in uphill time trial and starting 2006 he was member of the MLP-Team, competing in national league races in the highest amateur class, the A-league. His current best time on 90 km cycling is 02:09:27 hours, achieved at “Indeland Triathlon” 2015. Fabian Rahn’s debut on 42.195 km at the Cologne Marathon in 2013 was also very promising – he reached the finish line at 02:33:41 hours as the best European participant. With a current best time of 31:49 minutes on 10 km he also has the necessary speed performance that will pay off in the long distance races. And his running talent is not just a matter of chance: His father Juergen Rahn is still holding the marathon record in his athletic district, a finishing time of 02:25:45 hours at the Berlin Marathon 1991. ___


 

# U23 MLP-RADBUNDESLIGATEAM 2008 // Photo Credits: MLP

# DATEV CHALLENGE ROTH 2016 – 7. PLATZ GESAMTKLASSEMENT // Photo Credits: Marcel Hilger

Professional Triathlete

Fabian Rahn.

Fabian Rahn zählt zu den größten deutschen Hoffnungen im Triathlonsport. Seinen ersten Triathlon absolviert das Ausdauertalent 2009 auf der Kurzdistanz im Kraichgau, seither ist er von diesem Sport fasziniert und konzentrierte sich fortan auf die Kurz- und Mitteldistanz. Den Wechsel auf die prestigeträchtige Langdistanz vollzog Rahn erfolgreich am 17. Juli 2016 bei der DATEV Challenge Roth und lief als Debutant mit einer Gesamtzeit von 08:20:11 Stunden und der insgesamt viertschnellsten Marathonzeit (02:47:56 Stunden) auf Anhieb in die Weltspitze des Triathlon. Gleichzeitig verfolgt Fabian Rahn innerhalb der nächsten fünf Jahre mit seinem Masterplan #Agenda2020 das ehrgeizige Ziel des Podiums beim Ironman Hawai‘i. ___

 

 

 

 

 

Geboren
Geburtsort
Wohnort
Grösse
Gewicht
Körperfett
Puls
15.01.1986
Remchingen
Köln
177 cm
63 kg
5 %
34/190

 

 

 

 

 

 

# DATEV CHALLENGE ROTH 2016 – 7. PLATZ GESAMTKLASSEMENT // Photo Credits: Marcel Hilger

Triathlon.

Ich war schon seit meiner Kindheit begeistert von den drei Ausdauersportarten Schwimmen, Radfahren und Laufen. Während meiner Zeit als Fußballer (1995 - 2001: Stürmer und Stammspieler in der Badischen Auswahl) nahm mich mein Vater, ein sehr guter Marathonläufer, öfters mit zum Lauftraining und in meiner Freizeit bin ich schon immer auch sehr viel Rad gefahren. Als ich 2001 dann zum Radsport wechselte, war bereits ganz Nordbaden aufgrund des ersten deutschen Sieges beim legendären Ironman Hawaii durch Thomas Hellriegel im absoluten Triathlonfieber und als schließlich mit Normann Stadler 2004 der zweite Deutsche auf Hawai‘i gewinnen konnte, war auch ich wie gefesselt von dieser Sportart, verpasste keine Berichterstattung mehr, allein das Schwimmen hielt mich noch davon ab, es selbst einmal zu versuchen. Ich träumte bereits vor über zehn Jahren vom Triathlonsport, insbesondere vom Ironman auf Hawai‘i und dem Sieg bei diesem Rennen. Und ich bin bereit, diesen langen und entbehrungsreichen Weg bis nach Big Island Hawai‘i zu gehen, um die Ziellinie als Erster zu überqueren!

Sportlicher Werdegang 1995 - 2009

Vor allem in den beiden Disziplinen Radfahren und Laufen bringt Fabian Rahn von seinem bisherigen sportlichen Werdegang her exzellente Grundvoraussetzungen mit, um auch international den Sprung im Triathlon nach ganz oben zu schaffen. Rahn fuhr von 2002 bis 2008 als Amateur erfolgreich auf nationaler und internationaler Ebene Radrennen, siegte 2002 bei den Badischen Meisterschaften im Bergzeitfahren und fuhr ab 2006 als Mitglied im MLP-Team in der höchsten Amateurklasse, der A-Liga, Bundesliga-Rennen. Seine aktuelle Bestzeit über 90 kmRadfahren liegt bei 02:09:07 Stunden, erzielt beim Indeland Triathlon 2016. Das Debut von Fabian Rahn über 42.195 km verlief beim Köln Marathon 2013 mit 02:33:41 Stunden sowie als bester Europäer in der Gesamtwertung ebenfalls sehr vielversprechend; mit 31:49 Minuten über 10 km verfügt Rahn außerdem über die nötige Tempohärte, die sich am Ende auf der Langdistanz auszahlen wird. Dass sein läuferisches Talent nicht von ungefähr kommt, zeigt die noch heute gültige Marathonbestzeit seines Vaters Jürgen Rahn im Leichtathletikkreis Pforzheim aus dem Jahr 1991, aufgestellt beim Berlin Marathon in 02:25:45 Stunden. ___


 

# U23 MLP-RADBUNDESLIGATEAM 2008 // Photo Credits: MLP